CSE 91 Week 1

Hello CSE 91!  This is my week 1 post.

School at UCSD has been great so far.  I like my professors and this is really a beautiful place to live.  I learned some pretty cool things in my classes last quarter and look forward to learning more things in the future.

Actually the questions that Professor Baden posed in Monday’s lecture intrigued me–the ones about what technology we could have in the future.  I don’t think people 30 years ago could have envisioned the cool tech gadgets we have today, like 3D TVs and phones with quad-core processors, so I think it is really hard to envision what we could do in the future. However, I do have one product I’m thinking about.  I have read articles about trying to make silicon computer chips more flexible and I wonder if one could apply that to something like an iPad, so you could have a digital tablet that is just like a piece of paper, and that you can write on with a stylus.  It would be great for the environment (no more paper for anything) and would just be insanely cool.  Another thing I am thinking about is NFC communications, where instead of people having to send a link or a file over a current medium like e-mail or Facebook they could just pop it up on their phone and send it instantly to a friend or stranger around them or maybe even around the world.  It could be great for a variety of applications, including education.  However I see that devices are already coming out with NFC so this technology could be mastered in just 5 or 10 years.

I am not too worried about my exams so far, but about studying; I think it is important to just review the material you have learned over the course.  Last quarter I was doing quite badly in a math class because I hadn’t really been studying for the midterms; however near the end of the course I really studied very hard for the final and did well enough on it that I did alright in the class.

Steve Corey

Leave a Reply

